Friday, January 11, 2013

1957 50th Anniversary of the First Philippine Assembly

The Philippine Assembly was the legislative body of the Philippines during the early phase of U.S.colonial administration from 1907 to 1916. It served as the elected lower house of the legislature with the appointed Philippines Commission as the upper house. Following the elections held on July 30, 1907, the Philippine Assembly was convened at the old Manila Grand Opera House on October 16, 1907.

Sergia Osmena, leader of the majority Nacionalista party, became speaker and held that position until 1916 when the Philippines Assembly was abolished and the Philippine Legislature consisting of the Senate and House of Representatives was established.

Sergio Osmena, Speaker of the Philippines Assembly (1907-1916)

On October 16, 1957, the 50th Anniversary of the Philippine Assembly was marked with the release of a commemorative stamp featuring seated members of the Assembly and a vignette of Speaker Osmena.

Photograph used as the model for the De la Rue (England) engraving.

First Day of Issue Cachet

First Day Covers


Unpainted and Painted

Overseas Mailers (Jay Leach)

Overseas Mailers insert