Friday, November 30, 2012

1951 City of Zamboanga Coat of Arms

Zamboanga City is located at the southern tip of the Zamboanga peninsula, in the island of Mindanao, about 850 km south of Manila.The Zamboanga City Coat of Arms stamps were issued on June 19, 1951.

 The Stamps

 First Day of Issue Cachet

Zamboanga City's Coat of Arms features a vinta, the traditional boat used for inter-island transport in Mindanao. The boats have sails with vertical colours that represent the culture and history of the Muslim community.


A vinta is shown on the first day of issue cachet.

 First Day Covers

Santiago Artiga : First Mayor of the City of Zamboanga

Santiago Artiaga

Zamboanga City became an independent Chartered City on October 12, 1936, with Santiago Artiaga as its first mayor. Artiaga graduated from the School of Engineering, University of Michigan. As the city engineer for the City of Manila from 1920 to 1932, he had frequently served during vacancies is the mayor's office. President Manuel Quezon appointed Artiaga as  Zamboanga's first mayor in 1936. Artiaga went on to serve as mayor of Davao, and governor of Bukidnon and Malaybay provinces.

Cover autographed by S. Artiaga

6/26/51With compliments from
S. Artiaga
1st Mayor of Zambuanga

(Not in author's collection)

Thursday, November 29, 2012

1951 City of Cebu Coat of Arms

The second set of City Coat of Arms stamps was issued on April 27, 1951 honouring Cebu City, the second most significant city in the Philippines located on the long, narrow island of Cebu 570 km south of Manila.


Magellan's Cross

On April 7, 1521, Portuguese explorer Ferdinand Magellan landed in Cebu. The cross planted by the explorers is housed in a kiosk in front of the the Basilica Minore del Sto. Nino which is featured on the City of Cebu coat of arms.

The Stamps

 First Day of Issue Cachet

Cebu City Hall is featured on the first day of issue cachet

First Day Covers

Wednesday, November 28, 2012

1951 City of Manila Coat of Arms

In 1951, philatelic recognition was given to four Philippine cities, Manila, Cebu City, Zamboanga City and Iloilo City, with the release of stamp sets featuring the coat of arms of each city. Three stamps were issued for each city:
City of Manila.................February 3, 1951
City of Cebu....................April 21, 1951
City of Zamboanga..........June 19, 1951
Iloilo City........................August 26, 1951


The Stamps

First Day of Issue Cachet

The first day cachet features the Manila City Hall with its its distinct hexagonal clock tower.

First Day Covers

The stamps were issued on February 3, 1951, the 6th anniversary of the entry of U.S. forces into Manila.

Tuesday, November 27, 2012

1950 Cachets and Slogan Cancellations


5th Anniversary Entry of U.S. Forces into Manila

 A cachet was produced to commemorate the 5th anniversary of the entry of U.S. forces into Manila.

Manila, February 3, 1950

Inauguration of MacArthur, Leyte

The municipality of MacArthur, Leyte, named after Douglas MacArthur, was inaugurated on October 20, 1950. the 6th anniversary of the day MacArthur waded ashore on Leyte to begin the reconquest of the Philippines.

October 20, 1950 first day MacArthur, Leyte

Slogan Cancellations


Manila, February 1, 1950

DEC. 14 -17

Manila, December 14, 1950

JAN. 12, 13, 14, 1951

The University of the Philippines College of Law was formally established on January 12, 1911.

Manila, December 28, 1950