Wednesday, March 13, 2013

1963 Asian-Oceanic Postal Union 1st Anniversary

On April 1, 1962, Nationalist China, Korea, the Philippines, and Thailand, formed the Asian-Oceanic Postal Union (AOPU) whose headquarters were established in Manila. The purpose of the AOPU was to extend, facilitate, and improve postal relations between member countries and to promote co-operation in the field of postal services. By 2009, 31 countries in the region were members of the Postal Union.

The Bureau of Posts issued a set of two stamps on August 26, 1963, to commemorate the first anniversary of the AOPU.

First Day of Issue Cancellation

First Day Covers

style="margin-left: 1em; margin-right: 1em;">