Monday, January 28, 2013

1959 5th Anniversary Manila Pact

An eight-nation conference opened in Manila on September 6, 1954, to create a treaty designed to prevent communist aggression is Southeast Asia. The United States, Britain, France, Australia, New Zealand, the Philippines, Thailand, and Pakistan signed the Southeast Asia Collective Defense Treaty (also know as the Manila Pact) on September 8, 1954. The agreement created the Southeast Asia Treaty Organization (SEATO) which operated from 1955 to 1977.

In 1954, the Bureau of Posts overprinted and surcharged definives stamps to mark the Manila Conference.


On September 8. 1959, the fifth anniversary of the  signing of the Manila Pact, two commemorative stamps were issued featuring the Philippines Congress Building (now the National Museum), the site of the Manila Conference of 1954.

Congress of the Philippines

First Day of Issue Cancellation

The SEATO emblem was included in the first day of issue cancellation.

First Day Covers

Overseas Mailers


1960 SEATO Conference Washington

The Sixth Annual Conference of SEATO began in Washington on May 31, 1960. The U.S. issued a 4 cent commemorative stamp to mark the occasion.