Wednesday, February 20, 2013

1961 Manila Postal Conference

The 1961 Manila Postal Conference,  held in Manila  from January 10 to 23, 1961, resulted in the Asian Oceanic Postal Convention ("Convention") which was signed by representatives of Australia, China, Korea, New Zealand, Philippines and Thailand. The Convention came into force on April 1, 1962 with four countries forming a postal union, namely, China, Korea, Philippines and Thailand. The Convention now called the Asian Pacific Postal Union is today an inter-governmental organization of 32 Asian Pacific region postal postal administrations.

 The Manila Postal Conference was held at the W.H.O. building in Manila, shown in the above post card.

A set of two stamps, one regular and one air mail, were issued to mark the Conference on January 23, 1961.

Regular Stamp

Air Mail Stamp

First Day of Issue Cancellation

The Conference symbol was included in the first day of issue cancellation.

First Day Covers



Overseas Mailers