Saturday, March 2, 2013

1962 New Famous Filipinos I (Apolinario Mabini Definitve)

The Famous Filipino definitive series of 1952- 1960 was replaced with a new series starting with the release of the 3 cent Apolinario Mabini definitive stamp on May 13, 1962.

Apolinario Mabini

Mabini was a Filipino philosopher and revolutionary who wrote the constitution for the first Philippine Republic of 1899 - 1901, and served as its first Prime Minister. Historians refer to Mabini as the "Sublime Paralytic" and as the "Brains of the Revolution".

Beginning with the Mabini stamp, the country name on stamps was changed from "Philippines" to "Pilipinas", and denominations were changed from "c" for centavos to "s" for "sentimos".

First Day of Issue Cancellation

The Mabini stamp was the first issue in which the text of the cancellation was entirely in filipino.

First Day Covers

Unpainted and Painted